Archive for Results

Report & Results: Blaydon Road Race 20 May 2018


A very sunny Northumberland played host to the first Blaydon Cycle Club road race, Thanks to everyone who took part in a hugely successful day, this includes those racing, all that drove around the course, our marshals, officials, motorbike outriders and those working at event HQ. Results and a race report can be found below.

Men’s Race

The Race stayed together for first two laps with Steven Moon of Manilla GRN taking the lap two prime before we had the first attacks of the day.
Thomas Mein and Nick Spencer managed to clip off the front on lap 3 before Thomas accelerated and put in a stunning solo lap to push out nearly 2 mins on the bunch.
Thomas managed to push out his advantage to over 3 mins as the bunch settled down to fighting out the remaining podium spots. On the penultimate lap Gavin Richardson of Sunderland Clarion and David Nearney of South Shields Velo managed to get a gap of around 20 seconds on the bunch as they took the bell. David blew on the craggs and Gavin powered on but with half a lap to go Blaydon’s very own Marcus Cram exploded off the front to catch Gavin, who managed to hold on to 3rd to take a stunning 2nd place in his clubs very first road race. Thomas won by around 2mins after 5 laps solo.

Photo Credit: Darran Moore

Top 20

1 Thomas Mein – Hope Factory Racing
2 Marcus Cram – Blaydon CC
3 Gavin Richardson – Sunderland Clarion
4 Russell Wright – Manilla GRN
5 Nick Kalson – Reifen Racing
6 John Davidson – Reifen Racing
7 Nick Spencer – Blumilk
8 Ellis McCoy – GS Metro
9 Michael Smith – Reifen Racing
10 Fin Robertson – Derwentside CC
11 Wilson Brown – Cycleways SG Petch
12 Greame Wardale – South Shields Velo
13 Lee Cuthbertson – NTR
14 Greame Kirton – South Shields Velo
15 Russell Bayliss – GS Metro
16 Andy Hindmarch – Muckle CC
17 Lee Ridden – Reifen Racing
18 Craig Berry – GS Metro
19 Jamie Pattison – Cycleways SG Petch
20 Dan Pons – Blaydon CC

Ladies Race
Later on in the day the ladies took to the start line with a strong looking field. Lap 1 was enough for a select group of around 15 riders to go clear. This group would stay pretty much together until the final lap with a few smaller groups and solo riders racing it out behind in windy but warm conditions.
Chloe Fraser of racing chance took the first Prime on lap 2.
Gemma Hutchins of host club Blaydon CC battled out with Anna Kay of Storey racing and managed to hold her off for the lap 4 Prime meaning the host club had prize winners in both races! The final lap was selective with the group getting smaller and around 10 headed into the uphill sprint. It was a very close finish with Mary Wilkinson of Team Jadan holding off a late charge from Anna Kay to take the win by half a wheel with Chloe Fraser rounding off the podium.

Photo Credit: Darran Moore

Top 20
1 Mary Wilkinson – Team Jadan
2 Anna Kay – Storey Racing
3 Chloe Fraser – Racing Chance
4 Hannah Farran – Boompods EDCO NRG
5 Amy Graham – Boompods EDCO NRG
6 Becky Longthorp – Cliff Pratt racing
7 Georgina Ashworth – Team 22
8 Hannah Brand – VRDP
9 Laura Tissiman – York Cycleworks
10 Ellie Park – Team 22
11 Jennifer Batey – Boompods EDCO NRG
12 Susan Patterson – Honister 92
13 Gemma Hutchins – Blaydon CC
14 Josie Cram – unattached
15 Jen McMahon – Muckle CC
16 Olivia Fawcett – Boompods EDCO NRG
17 Zosia Martin – Glasgow Green Cycle club
18 Dorothea Schriever – Blaydon CC
19 Michelle Highfield – Berwick Wheelers
20 Nikki Metcalf – Prima Team Racing